Skip to content

Adventure Rock!

October 25, 2011

Don’t say a word to me about the fact that I haven’t posted anything here in a damned long time. I don’t want to hear it! I’m going to try to resurrect my blog with something that I thought about on my drive to work this morning while I listened to the radio. It’s not a new idea, by any stretch of the imagination.

We’re sometimes dumbtstruck for ideas for our tabletop RPG sessions. If you’re doing your own thing and not running a pre-published module or adventure path, you can sometimes look at your blank screen or notebook and think “Well, what are we going to do tonight?”

My suggestion? Turn on the radio and listen to music. Listen to the lyrics and craft an adventure seed or hook out of what you hear. This morning I heard Hell’s Bells by AC/DC on the radio, and after some thinking, I’ve put together this adventure hook for you to plunder if you see fit.

The Shadow Temple

It is early evening, on the leading edge of what promises to be a terrible storm, when the PCs finds themselves in a village, far from any major center. The people of the village seem distant, frightened and initially stand-offish of the newcomers. Soon though, the village’s reeve approaches the adventurers and begs for their help. The village is being terrorized by what they call the Shadow Temple – a dark structure that only appears in the village during night-time storms. Shadowy creatures that the villagers cannot harm spring forth from the temple, hunt and ultimately devour inhabitants of the village. The hunt continues until the bells of the temple peal their awful tones, causing the creatures to howl and return to the darkness from whence they came.

Try something out! I’ll post more ideas using Adventure Rock in the future.

From → Tabletop RPGs

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

