Skip to content

Excuses and Disclaimers

March 16, 2009

First of all, I’d like to apologize for the lack of effort I’ve been putting into the blog lately. My excuses are many and varied.

  1. I have a 2 1/2 year old and an 11 month old at home. I love my children. Their every waking minute takes up my time, when I’m not at work. After they are asleep, I prefer to vegitate, being exhausted from a day at work and only a couple of hours running around after them.
  2. My video-game playing has increased as my daughter has gotten older. When not asleep, I like to spend time playing games. This is escapism, plain and simple. I have been enjoying the Champions Online beta, Mass Effect, PuzzleQuest Galactrix and I recently discovered a nifty game called Evochron Legends (a game which I find tremendously impressive for it’s scale and remarkably small download size). I’ll talk more about Evochron later.
  3. My work life has gotten very, very busy. I don’t write this blog for a living. I’m a graphic designer. Since the studio I was working for was bought out last September (which was a good thing – it was either be bought out or close the doors), my workload has increased tenfold. To my embarrassment, many of my blog posts were done during work hours. I simply don’t have that kind of time at work any longer.

Secondly, I would like to take a moment to make perfectly clear that this blog has nothing to do with Andrew Bub’s Gamerdad.com website and blog – a blog that deals specifically with video games, parenting, violence and children. Andrew has a lot of great game reviews on his site, and has expressed concern to me that our two blogs may be confused because of the similar names. I don’t think this is the case, but to be safe I just thought I’d mention it. The last thing I want is a GamerDad vs. Gamer Dad cage match. On the other hand, I think I’d have some backup based on the number of other Gamer Dads out there. I’d just have to stay alive long enough to tag out.

Lastly, I want to let everybody know that this week, the Accidental Survivors podcast is going to be talking to Ross Watson from Fantasy Flight Games again, along with his good buddy Mike Surbrook. We’re going to be talking about sci-fi gear in modern and cyberpunk games. We record on Wednesday night this week, so the episode should be going live by the 23rd or 24th of March.

Listen in!

R.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

