Skip to content

Crazy Days

September 9, 2008

So it looks like Gamer Dad Weekly turned into Gamer Dad semi-whenever-I-feel-like-it for a while, there. I have a good excuse, though! The studio I work for was recently purchased by another company, and the last few weeks have been very nutty – though not more than the last couple of days. I haven’t had a stressful number of days like that for some time, and I hope I don’t see many more of them. It’s not fun!

The reason for it all is good, though – as my new boss called it, it’s a perfect storm. An absolute mess of new projects for new clients that have to knock their socks off. Having more work is never a bad thing, but I had been so slow for such a long period of time that it was a real shock, and it was tough to switch gears. Today is giving me a bit of a breather though, so while I eat lunch I write this to catch up. I promised myself I wouldn’t let this blog die like all the others, and along with the many lifestyle changes I need to make (the biggest of all being living more healthy for my own sake and the sake of my children), I need to keep my promises. And buy my wife flowers more often.

My big Geek News item for this week is that last week I finally received my new computer. I ordered it through NCIX and I have been very pleased with it so far. I should hope so, with it’s AMD Phenom X4 Quad 9850 CPU and it’s ATI Radeon HD 4870 video card, it’s chewing up games like Bioshock and Assassin’s Creed and spitting them out like nobody’s business. Even GTA San Andreas looks totally awesome. I’m considering going out and picking up Spore some time this week, though I’ve been warned away from it due to the high amount of time-sinkitude that has been reported to me by my friend Rice Kempo. That, and I’m also interested in picking up The Force Unleashed for the Wii, but again I’ve read some unflattering things about it – so I’ll rent it first and see what I think. Otherwise I might grab Lego Indiana Jones instead. Woof. So many games, so little time.

I also picked up the Catan Dice Game after seeing it at Gen Con. It’s a fun, quick, rules-light game based on the Settlers of Catan board game. You collect resources for each round by rolling six dice three times, and setting aside the dice that have turned up the resource you want for whatever you want to build. The game only allows for 15 turns, so at the most you’re looking at a 15 to 20 minute game. It’s great for travelling, at the cottage, or somethign quick to do in the evenings if you don’t have a lot of time. For a Gamer Dad, I find it’s the perfect weight of game for my wife and I. I gave a little bit more of a rundown of the game on the latest episode of The Accidental Survivors Podcast. Check it out.

The only other thing that’s missing in my life right now is tabletop roleplaying. I’m doing my darndest to get my Star Wars: Triton campaign going again, and perhaps I’ll have to wait until October before doing so. In the mean time, I’m trying to get it set up on a website called Obsidian Portal, a Web 2.0ish site that allows you to track your RPG campaigns with blog entries, Wikis, and listings of PCs and NPCs. Go take a look at it, and check out my game while you’re at it.

Rob out.

Today’s palandrome; Murder for a jar of red rum.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

