Skip to content

Michael Goldfarb: What does D&D have to do with it?

August 19, 2008

Recently, a colleague pointed this blog post out to me, from the John McCain 2008 website. The article is a response to some folks accusing John McCain – US presidential hopeful for the 2008 elections –  of plagiarizing author Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn when speaking of his experiences in Viet Nam. In particular, here’s the passage that stuck out to me…

It may be typical of the pro-Obama Dungeons & Dragons crowd to disparage a fellow countryman’s memory of war from the comfort of mom’s basement, but most Americans have the humility and gratitude to respect and learn from the memories of men who suffered on behalf of others.

Umm… what? What the heck does Dungeons & Dragons have to do with anything? I’m assuming that the insipid Mr. Goldfarb believes this particular group of people – gamers – to be a safe demographic to draw on as an insulting parallel to make when referring to those who support Mr. Obama.

While there are many thoughts coming to mind in regards to this arrogant attitude, my good friend Sam Chupp said it very well in an open letter to Mr. Goldfarb which he posted on his blog. This is what Sam had to say…

Mr. Goldfarb,

You may have just energized a whole bunch of completely apolitical geek types with this paragraph:

[clipped for the sake of redundancy]

I have to say, “Way to go!” Others have tried to get the gaming crowd to work to effect change for some time now, and now you’ve gone and done it.
You have a lot to learn about gamers, though. We are some of the most brave, chivalrous, honorable people you can possibly hope to meet.
Think about it.
We still believe in heroes, we still believe in the individual, we still believe that there are things worth living and dying for.
And some of us may have voted for your candidate before this.
Congratulations, I guess you didn’t want the gamer vote.
You’re certainly not getting mine.

Sincerely,
Sam Chupp

I’m almost positive that Mr. Goldfarb’s reaction to this will be something along the lines of a sarcastic “Ooooh, I ticked off the gamers. Woe is me! What ever shall I do?” because – well – that’s what ignorant people do.

Last time I checked, randomly insulting a group of influential people isn’t a good way to win friends, or votes. I often count myself lucky for being Canadian, but for once I wish I was a citizen of the US just so I could mark my “x” down next to Obama’s name come election day.

Up yours, Michael Goldfarb. Up. Yours.

One Comment
  1. Mel permalink

    After reading the whole blog entry, it is easy to see that Goldf*ck has decided that Obama supporters and D&D players are not Christian – after all, no god fearing, proper christian would play D&D or support someone like Obama who supports Gay marriage and other “horrible” things.

    I fear the day that McCain gets elected – the US may actually implode or cause the third world war.

    I also suppose I should be kicking your butt back to your parents – are all D&D players supposed to live in their parents basement???

Leave a Reply

