Skip to content

Gen Con Wrap Up Part 1: Pretty F**kin’ Chang

August 19, 2008
Accidental Gameologists

Accidental Gameologists from left to right; Colin, Meg, Rob, Fraser and Zeke.

This past Sunday, after twelve hours on the road, I returned home to Kitchener from Gen Con. Let me tell you, it was quite the trip – and I don’t mean the drive back from Indianapolis.

For several years now I’ve been trying to organize getting to Gen Con Indy. Last year, for the first time, I actually began organizing it and actually had a plan to go with two friends and the nephew of one of those friends. Unfortunately do to family priorities, I had to cancel those plans. Anybody who was listening to the Accidental Survivors Podcast around that time would have heard all about it, in all of it’s expletive-filled glory. So, early in 2008 I attempted to make plans to go to Gen Con again. Not wanting to make the drive by myself or pay for the hotel room myself, I contacted two friends about it, but those plans fell through as well. Then, around the middle of June, Fraser Ronald (star of stage and screen) contacted me with an email that said – and I paraphrase – “Do you want to go to Gen Con?”

The rest, as they say, is history. At 4:00am on Thursday, August 14th, Fraser, Colin and myself pulled into Indianapolis in Colin’s van which I refer to lovingly as the Geekmobile. Three hours of restless sleep later, we were walking the short distance to the Indianapolis Convention Center and Gen Con Indy 2008.

My first impressions of Gen Con were pretty much what I expected. I had been to FanExpo, and this was simply a much larger version than that. After we had collected our Press passes we were able to enter the Exhibitor’s Hall an hour before the general public, and that’s how I felt – it was a massive retail space. There were some cool publishers there, like Pinnacle, Fantasy Flight Games, Bioware, Green Ronin and such, but that’s essentially what it was – a big RPG store. We had no plans to do any interviews until Friday or Saturday, so on Thursday we just chilled, met up with some other podcasters, ate at the Ram and caught a nap in the afternoon.

P.F. Changs China Bistro became a descriptive for us at Gen Con.

P.F. Chang's China Bistro became a descriptive for us at Gen Con.

That evening we caught up with the folks from The Brilliant Gameologists and got invited to their palatial hotel penthouse where we partied, ate awesome Chinese food from P.F. “Pretty Fuckin'” Chang and drank until the wee hours. Friday, we vowed, would start Gen Con in earnest for us.

More to follow…

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Pretty Effin’ Chang indeed. They need to move the Con to Kitchener or TO so we can do this stuff every year.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. GenCon: First Thoughts

Leave a Reply

