Skip to content

Gen Con – It Approacheth!

August 6, 2008

Next Wednesday night, Canadians will be able to breath a sigh of relief as my friends Fraser, Colin and I will be leaving the country and heading to Indianapolis, Indiana (gotta love those creative American city names – Idianapolis, Kansas City, New York City, Jackson’s Hole) for Gen Con – the best four days in gaming! We will be representing the best gaming podcast on the intertubes – The Accidental Survivors Podcast.

Countdown to GenCon!

When it reaches zero, plug your nose!

For those of you who don’t know what Gen Con is, here’s a blurb from the Gen Con Indy website;

Gen Con Indy is the original, longest running, best attended, gaming convention in the world. For nearly 40 years, Gen Con Indy has been setting the trend and breaking records. Last year, more than 26,000 unique attendees experienced Gen Con Indy. The biggest complaint we hear is that there is simply too much to do, see, and experience. Get lost in a phantasm of art exhibits. Stare at jaw-dropping costumes, or better yet, wear one of your own. Meet the movers and the shakers in the gaming industry. Check out the newest games and get a sneak peek at the latest editions.

And, of course, play your heart out with fellow enthusiasts in a community that understands your passion. What you’ll experience at Gen Con Indy is nothing short of IT. You know, whatever “It” is for you? This is IT! Get ready to get there.

In a nutshell, it’s a roleplaying game convention, and it is for that reason that I still blush a little bit when someone asks me why I’m going to Indiana (to paraphrase Luke Skywalker – if there’s a bright center to the United States, it’s the state that’s farthest from). Even with 4th Edition hitting the shelves and Dungeons & Dragons seeming more popular now than it has been for years, I still feel a little bit like I should be living in my parents’ basement when I tell people I still play games like D&D. Even worse – telling them I play a Star Wars roleplaying game. For some reason that’s more difficult than telling people I play Dungeons & Dragons.

Yes, I suffer from Gamer Shame.

So, if you’re utterly incensed with what I do in my spare time and wish to punch me in the face, here’s my agenda for Gen Con. I’ll be the guy hiding my face behind my Star Wars Saga Core Rulebook.

Edit Yourself
Thu Aug 14 8:00 am – 9:00 am
http://gencon.highprogrammer.com/gencon-indy-2008.cgi/event/SEM00023

Impact of Podcasting on the Games Industry
Thu Aug 14 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
http://gencon.highprogrammer.com/gencon-indy-2008.cgi/event/SEM00185

When in Rome… (AD&D 1st Edition game)
Thu Aug 14 5:00 pm – 9:00 pm
http://gencon.highprogrammer.com/gencon-indy-2008.cgi/event/RPG00604

Force #13 “Lost and Found”
Fri Aug 15 noon – 4:00 pm
http://gencon.highprogrammer.com/gencon-indy-2008.cgi/event/RPG00635

Fantasy Grounds 101
Fri Aug 15 6:00 pm – 8:00 pm
http://gencon.highprogrammer.com/gencon-indy-2008.cgi/event/SEM00071

Quick Write
Sat Aug 16 11:00 am – noon
http://gencon.highprogrammer.com/gencon-indy-2008.cgi/event/SEM00007

Hey, I’ve Got a Day Job!
Sat Aug 16 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
http://gencon.highprogrammer.com/gencon-indy-2008.cgi/event/SEM00056

Fear the Boot LIVE
Sat Aug 16 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm
http://gencon.highprogrammer.com/gencon-indy-2008.cgi/event/SEM00194

Media Meet & Greet
Sat Aug 16 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
http://gencon.highprogrammer.com/gencon-indy-2008.cgi/event/SEM00196

3 Comments
  1. Mel permalink

    I don’t believe that you are going to actually attend an event at 8am!!! A few days away from the kids and you aren’t going to sleep in???? Silly, silly you!!

  2. I have my doubts we’ll actually attend that seminar at 8 AM, but it just looked so interesting!

    BTW, nobody tell Rob that we aren’t really going to GenCon. We’re actually doing the unwanted dog routine.

    “There’s the convention centre, Rob. Go get your press pass, boy. Go get it!”

    *squealing tires* *Vroooom*

  3. accidentalrob permalink

    I hate you both.

Leave a Reply

