Skip to content

Phone Calls in the Night

July 10, 2008

I got an email from a friend of mine this afternoon with an MP3 file of a very odd phone call that someone he works with received on the company’s emergency cell phone voice mail.

It is an odd rambling from somebody who could very well be drunk, mentally ill, or all of the above. Either way, it kind of gets the creative juices flowing. What if it made just a little bit more sense? Sounds like a great hook for a Modern-themed role-playing game adventure.

I transcribed the message, check it out…

“Yes, my name Neil Nellay, N-E-I-L Brian Name Bloom, codename 33-kadel [sic]. Under the act of treaty algamation Judge Hargrave of 1812, my code name is Chelsea Alexandria. And, uh, they violated the treaty act, under… I know my history… under, uh… this is on my own, kiddo… and this security guard dared to say that the people were bothering a caucasian white wearing a uniform, scaring all the kids here. I’m MRA <mumble mumble> twenty-five. I’m calling from 416-[number removed]. And uh I wanted the guy that is sitting in the classified hospital put under arrest, and the algamation [sic] congress is now in session, and I want that security guard <mumble>, and if he puts me in restraints or I’m stopped, I’m just here to get my foot looked after, some food, some clothing and I’m outta here. Uh, congress is now in session. <Pause> I agree. I agree. Voice print.”

Have a listen yourself. And if you get into trouble, you didn’t hear it from me.

From → Tabletop RPGs

2 Comments
  1. Mel permalink

    Hey, that sounds similar to a voicemail left on my home machine a few years back when I lived in TO. Do you remember that? I think I saved it for a few months as a conversation starter. It was so weird and somewhat spooky….

  2. David permalink

    Sounds like an Aboriginal person complaining about a decision of Justice Hargrove regarding a particular treaty with the natives. The reference to 1812 might be meant along the lines of “we helped you against the Americans in 1812 so…” type of thing. The year 1812 doesn’t immediately bring to mind any particular ‘upper canada’ treaty. Gives the impression of someone who has been misled.

Leave a Reply

